New Surgery New Problems

I am going to have surgery on my jaw next month, the bone island or tumour is growing and causing pain. So I have decided to do a go fund me campaign to help me raise the money I will need for the medication, tests and surgery.

It’s not cheap, but having cancer is never cheap. At the moment I pay around $200 a week on medication. This is going up because I have been prescribed a newer drug that is over $300 for a 28 day supply.  I wish the medications we cheaper and came under the PBS, but of course they don’t.

So I have set a target of $20,000 to help me pay for everything. I compare that with other times I have had to get surgery and the medications and some of those we about $30,000 But I did my numbers and this shouldn’t be that high. Why am I looking for the money and why is it so much?

I need the surgery quickly and the waiting list is too long. This means I have to pay for the surgical fee, the anaesthetic fee, the hospital fee and the medications.  I have also bargained in for the transport to and from hospital as I won’t be able to drive, and the cost of the pre and post op visits to doctors.

so this is my gofundme campaign, if you can please make a donation, if you can’t pass it on to others, spread it around and please support me.

https://www.gofundme.com/zzxmz-colleens-medical-fund

 

 

Thank you

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

