Story of Gran

Reader Story

 

When this happened, it wasn’t a cancer story, it was a racist story. My sister rang me to come up to the hospital, our gran had fallen and was rushed there. I found them in the emergency and my gran was in pain. She was hurting and she had a suspected broken hip. I didn’t want to see her in pain and I tried to get the attention of one of the people in surgical scrubs, I had no idea who was a nurse, doctor or wardsman. I caught someones eye and he came over I said could my gran get something for the pain. He looked at her and looked, went back to the station and found her file came back over and looked at her again. He said she would have to wait until they had her in a cubicle so they could assess her. I asked my sister how long they had been waiting. She gauged it at about an hour, I asked this man how much longer would my gran have to wait, since she has been waiting a bit. He called over a woman who said that it could be a while as it was busy. I asked her if my gran could have something for the pain. She looked at the file, looked at gran and told us to just wait a minute, she found the ambos who brought nan in and asked if they had given her anything and what the situation was. They said they hadn’t given her anything and that she had a suspected broken hip. I was starting to get flustered and loudly asked why no one had given an old woman with a broken hip any help for her pain? Why was she still on the ambulance gurney?  Funny that my raising my voice changed things, another person came over, it was a regular little party around my in pain gran. This man, looked at gran and asked if she was

auntie _ _ _ _ . Yes she is. He said I know her she comes in the hospital and does those Aboriginal days. A cubicle was found, gran was given a whistle and send off for x-rays and she had a broken hip and she had something stronger for her pain. If she wasn’t known how much longer would she have waited? We found out while she was in hospital she had cancer, the break showed it up. She goes in and out of the hospital and always checks on Dr _ _ _  he makes sure she is treated good.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

