Racism in Health

I have shared many stories of the racism that Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people have faced when seeking medical help for their cancer.

You can lodge a complaint with the hospital or clinic or even the General Practice. You can speak to an Indigenous Health Worker to help you find out how to do it, or talk to the Indigenous Hospital Liaison Officer.

Have a look at the “Racism it stops withe me” website for ways to complain, what to do if you experience it, or see a racist action.

https://itstopswithme.humanrights.gov.au

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

3 responses to “Racism in Health

  • TrishD

    I won’t pretend to say I have faced this because of the color of my skin. But it still disgusts me on a human level. And if you identify as having a aboriginal background people will instantly treat you differently.

    It’s unacceptable and it hurts humanity.

    Xxx

  • Marc

    Inspirational interview on ABC today. Thanks. I’m an Irish Language (Gaelic) teacher here in Adelaide. I heard you mention the language and Gráinne Mhaol. My daughter is called Gráinne for the same reason you mentioned – strong women, strong gran, strong great grandmother. All important in my life. I’ve got a lovely book on Gráinne here in Irish. I’d be more than happy to record myself reading the book for you and for you to have the book. Send me an email if you’d like me to do this and post it on. Happy to do do. Go dté tú slán, a bhean chróga.

    Marc Ó Conaill, Marc.OConaill@gmail.com

  • vk69

    Colleen, I was utterly appalled when I listened to your harrowing account of your treatment by our health system. Your distress was palpable, painful.

    I was particularly disgusted and aghast when it was at the hands of health professionals no less. People who I considered, were better than that. I would have thought by now, this sort of behaviour was consigned to the dustbin of history. Sadly, it isn’t.

    I know you have said the cancer is terminal, I can only wish you all the best for the future and that you are as comfortable as possible.

    I hope you are receiving far better treatment now, than you were earlier.

    All The Best, Lovey.

    X

Leave a Reply

