Views on Death

Stories on death and dying…

I was upset to see that you want to die. I have cancer and I don’t want to die. Euthanasia is ethically and morally wrong, the world has made great progress in treating cancer and I hope that one day no one will die from cancer. I agree that Aboriginals don’t get a fair deal with cancer, I’ve seen too many of my family die from it and that makes me angry that you think euthanasia is fine. As an Aboriginal woman you should be careful of who could be listening and might follow your lead. Watching my aunties die from cancer and some of them thought death would be better, but it’s not. I don’t see much difference between euthanasia and suicide, you just give it a fancy name and think its fine. The pain and the withering of the body and no control of the body is part of life. Life isn’t pretty, its messy and so is dying. Another thing is that if you say you are willing to die rather than suffer you are a coward, the pain is part of dying and that is part of the ritual of cleansing and passing into a better place. If you promote euthanasia we will never be able to trust a hospital it will remain a place of death to the community. 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

