Views on Death 2

Stories on death and dying…

When we go to hospital, we die that is how the medical process works. I have my own doubts about euthanasia in the hospital. Who should do it? When should it be allowed? Why should it happen? I have thought about euthanasia since my second cancer was found in my breast. The first one I had surgery chemo and radiation treatment, and I had Tamoxifen which might be why.

Having a second and it needs to be looked at differently and everything is different. I am told that it should be fine and I will be alright, but it made me wonder about life. I talked to some of the women who were at the clinic with me and I guess I am lucky I haven’t had it as bd as some of them. But I wonder sometimes and then I wondered more after you shared. I think I came up with some ideas you probably didn’t think of when you wrote it. You shouldn’t be talking to the community about killing yourself, that’s just giving people the opportunity to hurt us. Think about it, when an elder is in the hospital and you have a racist nurse or doctor, they will help that one die rather than treat them.

A lot of our people die in teh hospital and I wouldn’t be surprised if some of them were helped into the grave by medical people who gave them a bit extra sleeping pills or a bit too much morphine.  How many have died because they didn’t get the right care, they are treated badly just because they’re black. Talk of killing yourself, or assisted suicide is dangerous.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

2 responses to “Views on Death 2

  • scottx5

    I need to read the earlier posts first but talking about death doesn’t come up much and I’m curious about your reactions. As a white person living in an area surrounded by Indigenous communities in Alberta Canada and served by all white South African trained doctors I’ve experienced the Look-you-in-the-eye-should-we-let-you-die encounters at the local clinic and hospital. With my heart problems and the extreme superiority habitually modeled by the the racist doctors I’ve dealt with I know my refusal to feel safe is taken as a misunderstanding of the medical system. Or a condition of madness that’s fixable.

    Coming close to death changes the way we think about life and I find few people can accept that.

    Back soon.

    • proudblacksista

      That’s a look I totally know, I think it stems from the double God syndrome – White & a doctor. They expect everyone to think what they are thinking, doctors need to actually see the patient in front of them, put aside their bias, and their ideas and talk to the patient. I know some of my people are worried that they will be left to die, they know the history. But if that doctor sees beyond to the patient to see that will to live, well that might help some of them. For others who are willing and ready to pass, that has to be respected too. Feel free to chat to me on my email aboriginalcancer@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

