Fake tan is just as bad as black face

“I’m going to use a really dark fake tan and not do the black face”

A woman from a government department has just been in my house and she was telling me that she is going to a party on the week end a part with a theme, the theme is Australian music award winners. If you are wondering why I know this, why did she share this with me? I wondered this too, who cares what she is doing.

She told me she loves Jessica Mauboy and was going as her. The conversation then took a very nasty turn. This white woman told me that she was going to use a really dark fake tan and not do the black face. Did she want me to congratulate her on being a decent human being. Yes then I realised, hang on you’re not going to black face but have a really dark fake tan. I expressed my opinion that doing this was half a step from black face.

Ignoring my warning she then told me she was going to also wear lipstick, her words were” I’m going to wear lipstick, really bright red lipstick you know lubra lips  red lipstick”.  Yes these words were spoken in my house.

I don’t know how I kept my cool, but I informed her that both were racist and that using ‘lubra lips’ is incredibly offensive and I’m amazed she can sit in my house using such brazen racist terms.  She explained that she grew up with Aboriginals in Western Queensland and that she was of a Muslim Heritage family. I told her I didn’t care what her background was and that she would be knocked on her arse if she said lubra lips to any Aboriginal woman. I asked her to leave and I went down to her office and made a complaint about her.

I went to the office and I waited and waited until I could see her manager, a woman who assured me that Marissa (yes that was her name) wasn’t really racist and she grew up around Aboriginal people in Western Queensland and she wouldn’t have meant any offence, could I have been overreacting?

Well folks I don’t think I’m overreacting I think I’m under reacting if anything. I had to give a history lesson to the manager, just like I did to Marissa. This is just a sign of how racism against Aboriginal people is down played. Incidents like this encounter  are under reported and denied by people or just seen as an over reaction.

I’m just totally disgusted that someone, anyone could still use language like lubra lips and believe that it’s okay or to think that fake tanning is better than full on blackface.

I’m going to organise a formal complaint to the regional manager of that department and if need be I’m going to the minister, this shit has got to stop.

 

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

6 responses to “Fake tan is just as bad as black face

  • beautifulbougs

    you go girl! I had to physically pick my jaw off the ground as I read this…I wonder how cultural awareness was taught and when the last time these ladies attended? There is a time and a place for language to be used, this was not the time nor the place – I personally don’t think there is a time or place!
    I wonder if people have been so offended by previous behaviour exhibited by these staff that they don’t know what to do and so do nothing and their behaviour continues….
    People need to be called out publicly for discriminatory behaviour – it is not acceptable

  • TrishD

    Oh my f$&@ing ….!!!!! Are you serious???

    I felt sickened!

    I have no words. Seriously.

    What sort of a spirit does this person have?

    Complain! She needs a new soul!

    Please don’t have that sort of energy in your house. It’s not acceptable. You have standards and this person doesn’t.

    Again, I feel sick.

  • Greg Page

    Omg sis yeah get her out of the house quick.

    This is why when people say invasion is “all in the past, get over it” they don’t realise these microinvasions keep occurring in our own homes, workplaces, etc.

    We don’t just need “cultural safety” which often is about white box-ticking but control of our own services and lives.

    Sovereignty. Quite frankly.

    Hope you are well tidda. Sending a big hug ❤

Leave a Reply

