Under Pressure

I have been having some problems, actually when do I not have some problems?  The pressure is building up behind my eye, and I must have surgery next week to relieve the pressure.

It’s been slowly building up, I have felt it, apart from the usual pain, my eye has been hurting. It gets itchy and sore, it’s irritated and its blurry and sometimes I just can’t see at all out of my eye.  On the positive side, I have had this before and it only affects one eye at a time. I would really hate to have both eyes affected at the same time.

So what happens is the blood and fluid seem to rush around the one eye, the small capillaries can burst and I get really bad blood-shot eye  or hemorrhage in the eye that is affected. I weep blood like some sacred statue,  but I can’t perform a miracle healing on myself.  I have a patch to wear so that my eye is not affected by light and under that I wear a band-aid for the weeping, if I didn’t someone would start praying at my feet and that would just go to my heat and God would strike me with a lightening bolt.

Again, I point out that I am lucky, the first time I had this, I didn’t know what it was,  and had a nasty incident with a racist paramedic.  This time I knew something was wrong and had time to see a doctor and to get it all organised to have surgery next week. While it’s been annoying and frustrating, I can’t go anywhere, I can’t read or watch TV for long before the soreness & fuzzy of the good eye is way too much to deal with. God Damn it, this has had an impact on my tweeting!!

My vision in the gammy eye will improve after the surgery, you don’t realise when it slowly bit by bit affects the eye sight, it’s not until one day you realise that things in the distance look like a Jackson Pollock painting. It’s rather funny that now at this point, with the eye shut the swirling around in black or blurred white is definitely a Jackson Pollock piece.

So until next week I am doing my best pirate walk and talk .

 

 

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

3 responses to “Under Pressure

  • beautifulbougs

    oh dear, that sounds rather unpleasant. my thoughts are with you.
    I wonder if you have access to borrowbox from the library in Brisbane city council. you can download talking books and they read it to you. my favourite one so far is magda szubanski reading her memoirs. I often have them going in the car when I travel long distances. Just a thought if you can’t watch TV or play on the phone/computer on the internet.

  • beautifulbougs

    borrowbox and overdrive apps allow you to download books (both written and audio) to your device so you can see or hear them. I know that most public libraries around Australia have joined and so when you join the local library you have FREE access to such a range of books it’s just unbelievable!
    I needed help to get started on installing them, but once done…oh my goodness so many books to read (listen to). I love the function that you can play the talking book and set it to stop in 30 minutes (or however long you think you’ll take to go to sleep) and you can go back and start again in the morning!
    I could be a sales person for them!

Leave a Reply

